Things that I do not do.

Things that I do not do.

(two posts in one day, holy smokes)

This is a post inspired by something that happens almost every week at work. I’ll walk into the other marketing office, wearing a skirt, and one of the girls will gasp in mock horror about the oh-so-whiteness of my legs, so pale they match my ever-present cardigan. From their admonitions that I should tan, they move on to my cardigan, my hair, my shoes, my barely-there makeup. There’s no meanness, barely even rudeness, but my work friends all think the way I portray myself isn’t up to their standards. Not that I look bad, just that I’m wrong. Since they’ve all got the same version of what you should look like: tan, dyed hair, makeup, I look incorrect. (they once re-did my makeup for me. Bill said it made me look like I was going to prom. I thought it made me look like a hooker) Today, it happened again. And I laughed it off, because what else can you do when four people suddenly turn on your appearance, and ran to Twitter to ask Bill to comfort me.

to denwego, from EmilyManck: They’re making fun of my pale legs at work : ( You love my pale legs, right?
to Emily Manck, from denwego: I do indeed love your pale legs. DON’T LISTEN TO THOSE GUIDO-LOVERS – DO NOT TAN! I love you! 🙂

And then I felt all better. Because Bill does love me, just the way I am. And I love me the way I am too. So, in that vein, here is a short photo essay of the things that I do not do.

I do not tan. At all. Not on purpose, not on accident. Nothing.

note my very, very pale legs.

I do not dye my hair. Never have, never will. (Sorry, Bill’s dreams of me being a red-head)

My hair freshman year of high school and today. Same. Booyah.

I do not wear a lot of makeup.

This is me at a friend’s wedding, wearing a lot of makeup by Emily standards.

I do not “do” my hair.

acceptable Mancktastic hairstyles

I do not wear trendy clothing, nor do I feel bad about wearing my cardigan ; )

sexy Chanukah suspenders ; )

(don’t worry Ms. Mercy, I don’t usually wear suspenders. Not kidding about the cardigans though)

Just as clarification, I don’t have a problem with people who do any of the things that I do not do, but they shouldn’t have a problem with me either. I’m good with who I am. My parents are. My (real, non-work) friends are. My Bill is. And that’s more than a lot of people can say. Yay doofy, pale, dorky me! : )

5 thoughts on “Things that I do not do.

  1. I love that you have been blogging so regularly! It’s great to have an idea of what is going on in your life. 🙂 I understand not blogging this week because you were cranky for no reason. I was in the same boat the past few days… it’s never fun to have a few days in a row where you just are in a funky mood and can’t snap out of it. Hope this weekend is better for you!

    Thanks, also, for the books! They arrived yesterday and I can’t wait to get started. Miss you dear. Keep up the great updating. 😉

  2. It’s genetic for Bill. When he went to the Academy, his teacher said they never had a boy so “white” in the school before. I have a great picture of him with John in the tub when they were about 4 and 2 years old after spending the entire summer at the town pool with the babysitter: John looks like George Hamilton, Bill looks like Casper the friendly ghost.

  3. Don’t those grumpy for no reason days stink, Katie? I was having a big long run of them and it was starting to make me sick of myself. I’m glad you’re liking my blogging more regularly : ) It makes me pay more attention to the important or at least interesting things in my life and it keeps Ms. Mercy updated on her son’s life too ; ) I hope you enjoy the books! You need to start blogging now too : )

  4. Ms. Mercy, I have the palest family of all time, I swear. My Dad’s a little tanner than the rest of it because he’s out on his job sites all the time, but my mom, brother and I are just as pale as can be. My mom has a sun allergy, so it’s understandable that she doesn’t go out much. Thankfully, Josh and I didn’t inherit that, we just sunburn really easily. Yesterday at the pool, Bill kept teasing that my legs blended in with the white plaster-y bottom. : ) I told him about the George Hamilton and Casper comment and it gave him a good hearty laugh : )

Leave a Reply

