Week One of the new, DINK life

Week One of the new, DINK life

So far, so good my friends! We may not really be double-income-no-kids until Bill gets his first paycheck, but he’s definitely employed : ) His first week at his school is going really, really well; his kids are very well behaved, smart high schoolers and he’s even started as an assistant coach for their varsity lacrosse team! On his third day, Bill told me he couldn’t believe they were paying him to work there, it was just a dream to teach these great kids. After his nightmare school in Virginia and all the other schools that didn’t work out, my lovely fiance definitely deserves a wonderful, supportive school.

He’s going gaga for lacrosse again, now that he’s coaching. We had to buy his first pair of sneakers since college and I haven’t seen him put down his borrowed lacrosse stick since he got it. Plus, he’s super-cute in his Jesuit jersey ; ) His having practices has lit a tiny fire under my tookus to work out a little as well, so that’s definitely nice. Right now it’s just a little 10-minute circuit with jumping jacks, crunches and whatnot, but I’m slowly adding more to it to build up some endurance and freaking physical fitness.

I’m very enthused about his new job because it means we have grown-up activities to attend! There’s a business/formal President’s dinner coming up next month that we’re invited to which means lots of meeting new folks and eating free food and I’m probably way too excited about it. Don’t worry, my social anxiety will kick in the day of and I’ll be my normal awkward self. I’m also pretty enamored of Bill having to get up and go to bed on a normal (adult) schedule too, instead of waking up at 11 after going to bed at 2. The last 2 days he’s had early classes, so I get to sleep while he’s in the shower and it is AWESOME. I don’t mind being the dog-walker on those mornings at all!

In also-good-but-unrelated news, we have somewhere and sometime to get married! Hooray! Unless something goes wrong in the next week before we put down our deposit, Bill and I will be getting married March 10th in La Grange, TX! Yay! (Sorry, that was a lot of exclamation points, but I’m super-psyched) The place we’re getting hitched is super-gorgeous and even has lodging on-site for our family and friends who are coming from far away. There’s obviously still a TON to be done, but it’s nice to have the big honker of when and where checked off the list. Now it’s on to photographer, officiant, food, booze, clothes, etc, etc, etc. Whew! Good thing I have my handy binder to keep me sane. That’s right, color-coordinated, foldered and tabbed wedding binder is keeping me sane : )

On that note, it’s back to the binder (and work) for me! I’ve got people’s addresses and accommodation info to track down (we have to know now if they’re staying with us), as well as all the other things that make this wedding thing tick ; ) I’m so blessed to have wonderfully supportive family, friends and the internet to help us pull this thing together. Have a wonderful weekend, friends!

One thought on “Week One of the new, DINK life

Leave a Reply

