A Little Bit at a Time

A Little Bit at a Time

Well, we’ve made a little more progress in the moving, unpacking and decorating area!

Last night, we transferred the contents of our fridge over to the new apartment, along with the bread box, fruit basket, hamper, mixer and front door wreath. Now our door is officially holiday-ed, plus I made Heath chip cookies with Greek yogurt to ‘break in’ the oven and finally get to use my mixer in the new place. 4 days without my mixer in the apartment was just too long for me! I’ll share the recipe for cookies below : )

Our other bit of progress is that Finnegan has now slept with us for 3 nights with no wake-up/destructive incidents! It’s very nice to have a happy, purring Finn on my pillow or next to me when we fall asleep and he was nestled on my chest this morning : ) I hope that small cat continues to mature in his sleeping habits so we can have more cozy nights as a family, rather than nights of yowling through multiple doors.

Tonight, I’ll be working on making a dent in laundry and ironing while enjoying the HBO movies I’ve been recording during our free trial ; ) Hopefully I’ll also get a chance to address our Christmas cards since they came in last night! I need to order stamps for them, but the USPS website isn’t loading for me: boo. Have a grea day!


Heath-Chocolate Chip Mini Cookies with Greek Yogurt (based on a recipe from Two Peas & Their Pod)

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey-vanilla Greek yogurt (or any other yogurt)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup Heath chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In mixer, cream together the butter and sugars together until smooth. Add greek yogurt and extracts, mix well to combine.
  3. Add flour, salt, and baking soda to the mixer bowl, mix slowly until well-combined.
  4. Stir in the mini chocolate chips and Heath chips until well-distributed.
  5. Roll dough into itsy-bitsy balls, about 2 teaspoons of dough. Distribute with about 1.5″ of space between on baking sheet and flatten slightly. Bake for 8 minutes or until cookies are set.
  6. Let cookies cool for 2 minutes and enjoy : )

The replacement of egg with Greek yogurt makes for a dense, cake-ish cookie that’s very tasty. They retain hints of the honey flavor from the yogurt that works quite well with the almond extract. This recipe tends to yield more than will fit on my large baking sheet, so I place any excess dough balls in the freezer on a flexible cutting board to save for future baking (or snacking).

Leave a Reply

