Roasted Chicken

Roasted Chicken

Happy New Year, blog! I hope your 2013 has gotten off to a fine start and that you’re ready for a new year of love, prosperity and happiness : )

To begin my 2013, I decided to try something that I’d never done before: roasting a whole chicken! It seems like a pretty basic culinary skill, but I’d just never had the opportunity or reason to roast a chicken. Since I had Tuesday off from work, it seemed like the perfect time to develop this new (to me) dish while I could dedicate the time to it. I knew I wanted a basic recipe with a butter rub and potatoes on the side, and I found a great starting point in Melissa d’Arabian’s recipe from the Food Network. To Manckwhite-ify the recipe, I added herbes de provence (of course), used a little more white wine and fingerling potatoes (my favorite). I’m proud to say my first chicken turned out great! While this isn’t a weeknight recipe (it takes a few hours to make), I can see myself roasting a chicken Sunday to use on salads and inside other dishes!

Roasted Chicken

  • 1 whole chicken, 4-5 pounds
  • 4 Tablespoons butter, softened
  • 2 Tablespoons rosemary
  • 2 Tablespoons minced thyme
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 Tablespoon herbs de Provence
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 1 ½ pounds fingerling potatoes
  • ¼ cup extra-virgin olive oil
  1. Remove giblets from chicken, then rinse and pat-dry. Allow the chicken to rest at room temperature for 30 to 60 minutes.Preheat the oven to 425° F.
  2. In a food processor, combine butter, rosemary, thyme, garlic, herbes de provence, salt and pepper. Rub rested chicken all over with 3 tablespoons of the butter mixture, including underneath the breast skin.
  3. Pour the white wine into a small roasting pan, then place the chicken in, breast-side down. Roast for 15 minutes.
  4. Toss potatoes with olive oil, salt and pepper to coat. After chicken has roasted for 15 minutes, remove from the oven. Reduce oven temperature to 325° F. Flip the chicken so it is breast-side up, then return to roasting pan. Brush the rest of the butter on top of the chicken. Add potatoes to the roasting pan and return to oven.
  5. Roast for about 1 hour and 15 minutes more or until a thermometer inserted in the thickest part of the inner thigh, not touching the bone, reaches 160° F.
  6. When chicken is cooked through, allow it to rest for 10 minutes. Carve the chicken, returning to oven if it needs any further cooking. Enjoy!

8334917789_b7409aa076_z

This simple roasted chicken is juicy and flavorful  because of the herbed butter, with delicious toasty potatoes and a crispy skin. It’s great on its own, or as the filling for a pot pie or topping a salad.

Click here to download a PDF of the recipe!

One thought on “Roasted Chicken

Leave a Reply

