Savory Citrus Sweetness: Marmalade Chicken

Savory Citrus Sweetness: Marmalade Chicken

Did you ever have to do a terrible school fundraiser? The cookie dough and chocolates were ok, but wrapping paper and magazines always seemed like the worst sell when you were knocking on neighbors’ doors. “Who really cares about People or Cosmo?” I used to think as I trudged from member to member at church dinners. Sure, I enjoyed the occasional Time when killing time at the library, but I was never a huge magazine person. Give me a nice book, loaded with words and stories that make my imagination soar and take longer than 15 minutes to read cover to cover.

Maybe something changed in my brain as I got older or maybe it was just the siren call of organization and recipes, but now I eagerly await the arrival of each month’s Real Simple magazine in my mailbox. Over the past few years I’ve harvested meal ideas, outfit inspiration and even gift revelations from the pages of this publication. When I saw today’s recipe in Real Simple last year, I immediately ripped it out and added it to my recipe folder for future use. It wasn’t until I already had marmalade on hand for last week’s Light Orange Beef and Broccoli that I remembered to dig this recipe out of the archive, but boy am I glad I did!

IMG_1594

A delicious sauce is quickly whipped up to coat chicken breasts; it’s already ready after just a few minutes on the grill! While this sauce is composed of 5 simple ingredients, the resulting flavor is anything but boring. The tart citrus of the orange marmalade marries with the distinctive savory notes of the balsamic vinegar to create a rich and refreshing flavor that’ll have you licking the plate for more. Since the thin cutlets cook up so quickly, you’ll have this summery dinner done in a flash to share with family and friends.

I recommend you serve this dish with a side of salad, rice or cous cous. We used Near East’s Pearled Cous Cous last night, and it was absolutely delicious! The larger grain makes for a hearty, healthy and filling side.

Marmalade Chicken

  • 4 thin chicken cutlets (1 pound)
  • ½ cup orange marmalade
  • 1 Tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Heat a grill or grill pan to medium-high heat.
  2. Combine marmalade, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper in a bowl. Add chicken to the marmalade mixture and toss to coat well.
  3. Grill chicken until cooked through, about 2-4 minutes on each side.

Marmalade Chicken from Mancktastic!

Based on a recipe from Real Simple

Click here to download a PDF of this recipe!

Leave a Reply

