2013 – In Review

2013 – In Review

Haha, months and months ago I said I was making a triumphant return… and then I proceeded to get insanely busy at work (in a good way). But then Ms. Mercy got me Christmas presents specifically so I would start blogging about my outfits again, at least. So, in typical blogger New Year’s fashion, I’m trying to come back to you, oh interblog.

In 2014, I will try (focus on the try) to get back to Sharp-Dressed Lady, both here and on Instagram, plus one recipe a week. I already have a delicious Calamari recipe on deck that I can’t wait to share! Plus, then I have an excuse to make Calamari again 🙂

And now, on to our yearly review!

  1. What did you do in 2013 that you’d never done before? I quit a job! I started in non-profits! I’m getting paid to write! Bill and I bought a car! It was really kind of a huge year.
  2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? Well, I started 2013 with some goals, and I slacked off on them midway through the year. I definitely read more of the Bible and the saints, but my dailies got finished, and hahaha exercise – that’s funny! I did do well with taking more pictures, but blogging fell by the wayside when my free time disappeared thanks to new job.
  3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Barely squeezing in to 2013, Warren joined our friends Clay and Allison right before Christmas.
  4. Did anyone close to you die? I don’t think we lost anyone this year either. Fingers crossed that the trend continues!
  5. What countries did you visit? Umm, the US.
  6. What would you like to have in 2014 that you didn’t have in 2013? More confidence, a bigger savings account and a second mixer bowl!
  7. What dates from 2013 will be etched upon your memory, and why? September 9th – first day at the new job!
  8. What was your biggest achievement of this year? Last year’s survey was wedding heavy, and this one’s will be new job heavy. Finally getting away from my old job into a new workplace where I am learning, growing, and surrounded by kind, talented and supportive co-workers is really amazing. I’m so proud of the work I’m doing here, and I’m so proud of myself for getting here  (and thankful to my supportive family and friends and God for getting me here too).
  9. What was your biggest failure? Boo, what a negative question. Since nothing is coming to mind, I’m taking that as a win.
  10. Did you suffer illness or injury? The usual bouts of sinus and ear infections, plus some off-and-on weird nerve thing in my shoulder.
  11. What was the best thing you bought? My curlers! That may sound ridiculous, but those curlers are amazing. They have changed my hair-life.
  12. Whose behavior merited celebration? Bill is still the very awesomest husband and I’m so proud of Bef and Bert for their brave move to start their professional lives in Chicago.
  13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? My old co-workers, and their love of power, drama and small-mindedness.
  14. Where did most of your money go? Besides student loans, rent and gas, we also dealt with car repairs and a car loan this year!
  15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? New job! New car! And repeating last year: Lacrosse! Baking! The Manckwhites as a unit!
  16. What songs will always remind you of 2013? The Curse by Josh Ritter, The Goodbye Song from SMASH
  17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer? I am happier and richer, but I have no idea if I am thinner or fatter. My sisters told me I looked skinnier at Christmas, though.
  18. What do you wish you’d done more of? Same as last year: “Keeping in touch with friends, going to church/mass and sleeping (of course)”
  19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Still the same: “Commuting, griping, and worrying.”
  20. How did you spend Christmas? We had Sister Manckmas on the 21st, Christmas Day just us, then Parent Manckmas on the 28th. On Christmas Day, we hung around the house and made delicious calamari two ways.
  21. Did you fall in love in 2013? Ditto again:I fall in love with Bill and our little family every day, true story.”
  22. What was your favorite TV program? This year, I got into the West Wing and New Girl, thanks to Netflix. Plus, The Sing-Off was back!! I’ve stuck to 30 Rock and Iron Chef, as well as The Mindy Project, Community and The League.
  23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? I still think this is a resoundingly negative question, so I’m ignoring it this year.
  24. What was the best book you read? I’ve been listening to a lot of audiobooks this year; my favorites were The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, Redshirts by John Scalzi, I, Claudius and Claudius the God by Robert Graves. In e-book/physical book form, I loved The Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger and The Old Man’s War series by John Scalzi and Elantris by Brandon Sanderson
  25. What was your greatest musical discovery? I really like Josh Ritter and Ryan Lerman
  26. What did you want and get? A new job! A new Christmas tree!
  27. What did you want and not get? More visits to see Bef and my in-laws.
  28. What was your favorite film of 2013? Hobbit the Second was awesome, plus I really liked World’s End, and I don’t remember any other movies I saw for the first time…
  29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I never have any memory of what I actually did on my birthday… but I turned 26 this year!
  30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? No. Car. Troubles.
  31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept of 2013? Actually trying? I mean, I made a freaking fashion section for this blog!
  32. What kept you sane? Husband, puggle, our neighbor Keri, and my new work friend, Donna.
  33. Who did you miss? We never get to see either set of parents enough, or my awesome Grammy.
  34. Who was the best new person you met? Donna – my new-work-rock and Helen – my new-work-Presby-nerd
  35. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013. Have the confidence that you can change your own life, and you can.
Leave a Reply

