Sharp-Dressed Lady: August in Review

Sharp-Dressed Lady: August in Review

My first back-to-work outfit after vacation. Those wedges always make me feel confident!

The first day back after vacation, I try to go the extra mile when I’m getting ready so I really get back into work mode. So, with curled hair and wedges that make me look tall and skinny, I was ready to go after our wonderful 2-week getaway to the Northeast.

Cardigan and shoes: Target; Pants: Ann Taylor


Who doesn't love a comfy, silky top that's covered in cheerful birds? Bonus points: it was less than $10 on clearance!

While I was initially worried about how the bright mint-ish color of the cardigan would go with this bright and busy top, I was really happy about how the colors worked together in the final outfit!

Top: Banana Republic Outlet, Skirt: Macy’s, Cardigan and belt: Target, Shoes: Payless Shoe Source


What can I say? Navy, mustard and cognac just feel right together for me.

For years I didn’t wear yellow because my mom didn’t like it for some reason, but I have grown to LOVE it – especially mustard! Whether it’s paired with black, brown or navy, it’s turned into a basic neutral for me. I think it looks rich and gorgeous with navy, cream and cognac here.

Top: Kohl’s, Cardigan and belt: Target, Skirt: Banana Republic Outlet, Shoes: Payless Shoe Source


I was so happy to have a red cardigan after many years without, but this is the day I fell down the stairs at work...

Ah, this was such a triumphant outfit for me. I was feeling cute and confident with my pencil skirt, new $7 top (what what) from Target and the red cardigan I was so psyched about. Plus, my awesome heels and some red lipstick. I looked awesome all day, until the last 2 stairs from the bottom on my way home. Then BAM.

Top and cardigan: Target, Skirt and shoes: Ann Taylor


Yes, I know it's August, but sometimes a girl needs some nice fall tones in her life.

I need to replace this cardigan soon since it’s getting a little threadbare, but I think it’s the perfect cool hunter green. You can’t see in the photo, but these shoes are adorable kitten heels in a slight plaid with brown patent leather accents – I’ve had them since college and I love them.

Top and cardigan: Target, Skirt: Ann Taylor, Belt: Old Navy


Oh casual Fribsday, I may love you the most of all!

I mean, who doesn’t love casual Friday? These dark wash skinny jeans from a past StitchFix are my go-to now because they have a great high waist to hide my belly, plus a great amount of stretch for throughout-the-day comfort. The pop of orange brightens up an outfit which could be pretty boring otherwise, and it’s another StitchFix keeper from a while back.

Cardigan: Target, Jeans and necklace: StitchFix, Shoes: Payless Shoe Source


I rarely wear my custom silk skirts from China, but I don't know why. I got so many compliments this day!

I can’t remember the last time I wore this skirt – I’ll never get rid of it, but I’m always a little worried about messing up the silk. That’s silly though – look how awesome it is!

Top: LOFT Outlet, Cardigan and shoes: Target


Recognize anything from this month's StitchFix? I just love the Leavenworth top!

You knew it was coming – the work debut of my latest StitchFix find! It goes perfectly with my new red cardigan and my comfy navy pencil skirt from Macy’s.

Top: Leavenworth Sleeveless Top from StitchFix, Skirt: Macy’s, Cardigan: Target, Necklace: Banana Republic

One thought on “Sharp-Dressed Lady: August in Review

Leave a Reply

